Free Shipping for Order over $95*

The Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

Regular price $13.80

by Isabel Wyatt

This collection of stories is based upon tales told by the Buddha to his monks 2500 years ago. Isabel Wyatt's enchanting retelling conjures up a rich world of eastern legend, ruled by courtly kings and wise men, and populated by brave princes, faithful elephants and cunning monkeys. The stories tell of great adventures and heroes, of danger and courage, and most importantly of how wisdom and thoughtfulness always triumph over selfishness and greed. This anthology was compiled with children around the age of eight in mind -- children who are embarking on more and more adventures in their own lives, and themselves learning to become clever and brave.

Recommended for 7 - 10 years old.

Softcover, 120 pages. 216 x 138 mm. 10 black and white line illustrations.

Floris Books.

About the Author

Isabel Wyatt was born in England in 1901. She spent many years teaching young children and was then, until her retirement in 1965, co-director of studies at Hawkwood College in Gloucestershire. She compiled many books for children, including The Seven-Year-Old Wonder Book, Homer's Odyssey, King Beetle-Tamer and The Book of Fairy Princes. She died in 1992.

Table of Contents

The Prince Who Ate Swords

How Milk-White Flew

The Lame Cat and the Potter

The King's Friend

The Ape-king

The Sneeze that Won a Wife

Prince Bowman

Monkey Fat

The Lotus Garland

The Boy Who Found Water

The Speech of Beasts

Prince Grit-in-the-Eye

Rats at the Lute

Prince Sun and Princess Moon

Big Sage and Little Sage

The Four Dangers


'For anyone who likes myths and folk tales, this book fulfills the need admirably; well worth buying'
--Books for Keeps, no 179

'The stories are gently paced and good for reading aloud.'
-- Janet Dowling, The School Librarian, Winter 2009

'A welcome change from the traditional stories we hear! The tales are refreshingly uncomplicated'
-- Armadillo Magazine Online, December 2009